
 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

MOTORCYCLE SAFETY AND TRAINING 
Penalties and Sanctions 
Schools, instructors, and instructor Training providers 

Texas Transportation Code, Chapter 662 
Texas Occupations Code, Chapter 51 
16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 98 
16 Texas Administrative Code Chapter 60 

Class A Violations 
Penalty: $200 - $500 
Motorcycle School Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Failed to maintain range for training site 98.72(a)(8) 

98.100(a)(1)(A)-(F) 
Failed to maintain a proper classroom for training 98.72(a)(8) 

98.100(a)(3)(A)-(D) 

Failed to have a first aid kit and fire extinguisher at training site 98.72(a)(8) 
98.100(a)(2) 

Administrative Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Motorcycle school or instructor training provider failed to report 
to the Department information of each student or trainee
enrolled in the course by the fifth business day after the end of 
each course. 

98.50(b)(1)-(3) 
98.71(b)(1)(A)-(C) 

98.72(a)(4) 

Motorcycle school failed to submit a quarterly report to the 
Department 

98.50(c)(1)-(5) 
98.72(a)(4) 



 

 

 

 

Instructor or instructor training provider failed to notify the 
Department of changes in the instructor’s address, phone 
number, or email address within 15 days of the date of change 

98.70(a)(1) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Motorcycle school failed to notify the Department of changes to
the information provided for initial licensure within 15 days of 
the date of the change 

98.72(a)(1) 

Motorcycle school failed to conduct course in accordance with 
the Department approved curriculum  98.72(a)(12) 

Motorcycle school failed to notify the Department within 15 
days of any curriculum changes 98.72(a)(12) 

Motorcycle school failed to notify the Department at least 15
days prior to relocation 

98.72(a)(6) 
98.74(a) 

Motorcycle school failed to inform each student in writing of 
the department’s name, mailing address, telephone number, 
and website address for the purpose of directing complaints to 
the department 

98.104(e) 
98.104(f) 

Safety Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Instructor or instructor training provider failed to wear the 
protective gear required when riding a motorcycle to, from, or 
during rider training activities 

98.70(a)(13) 
98.71(a)(1) 

98.108(e)(1)-(6) 
Motorcycle school, instructor, or instructor training provider failed 
to ensure all students wear the protective gear required when 
participating in the on-cycle activities of the course  

98.70(a)(14) 
98.71(a)(1) 
98.72(a)(15) 

98.108(e)(1)-(6) 

Insurance Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Instructor failed to ensure that each motorcycle provided by a 
student meets the insurance requirements before the motorcycle 
was used on the range  

98.70(a)(8) 
98.102(b)(2) 



 

  

 

 

Class B Violations 
Penalty: $500 up to $1,500 and/or up to 1-year probated suspension 
Administrative Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Instructor or instructor training provider failed to maintain a 
valid driver license 

98.70(a)(2) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Instructor training provider failed to maintain a current 
instructor license issued by the Department 

98.71(a)(2) 

Instructor or instructor training provided instruction in 
motorcycle operation while failing to maintain a driving record 
that meets the requirements of §98.21(5) 

98.21(5) 
98.70(a)(3) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Instructor or instructor training provider failed to provide 
instruction in compliance with a curriculum approved by the 
department 

98.20(a)(2) 
98.70(a)(9) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Instructor or instructor training provider failed to comply with 
the student-to-instructor ratio requirements in §98.108 

98.70(a)(11) 
98.71(a)(1) 

98.108(b)-(c) 

Motorcycle school failed to maintain records of courses and 
individuals course completion certificates for 3 calendar years 

98.72(a)(16) 

Instructor training provider failed to maintain records of courses 
conducted, including each individual who received a course 
completion certificate, for 3 calendar years 

98.71(b)(2) 

Motorcycle school accepted a student under the age of 18 
without written consent from parent or legal guardian 

98.72(a)(10) 
98.104(c) 

Motorcycle school failed to inform student in writing of school’s 
policies prior to accepting payment from an individual for 
admission to an entry-level course. 

98.104(d)(1)-(2) 

Motorcycle school failed to notify the Department within 30 
days after a change of ownership 

98.72(a)(7) 
98.76(b) 



 

 

 

 

Course Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Motorcycle school conducted motorcycle training that is not in 
accordance with a Department approved curriculum 

98.25(2) 
98.108(a) 

662.006(a)(2) 

Motorcycle school failed to issue a department-approved course 
completion certificate to a student who has successfully 
completed an entry-level course. 

98.72(a)(11) 
98.106(a)-(b) 

Motorcycle school allowed instruction that did not comply with 
the student-to-instructor ratio requirements in §98.108 

98.72(a)(14) 
98.108(b)-(c) 

Motorcycle school failed to make available a separate
motorcycle for each student in a two-wheeled motorcycle course 98.108(d) 

Motorcycle school allowed more than two students to share a 
motorcycle in a three-wheeled motorcycle course 98.108(d) 

Motorcycle school did not maintain ownership of, or have 
written authorization by the owner to use training site and 
motorcycles 

98.72(a)(2) 

Motorcycle school offered or conducted a course without 
authorization from the owner of the course 98.72(b)(2) 

Motorcycle school failed to issue a department-approved course 
completion certificate restricted to the operation of a three-
wheeled motorcycle for completion of a course specific to 
operation of a three-wheeled motorcycle.  

98.106(b) 

Safety Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Instructor or instructor training provider failed to report each 
injury to the motorcycle school in a timely manner 

98.70(a)(5) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Motorcycle school, instructor, or instructor training provider failed 
to ensure each motorcycle to be used on the range meets the 
requirements of §98.102 

98.70(a)(7) 
98.71(a)(1) 
98.72(a)(9) 



 

 

 

 

  

98.102(a)-(c) 
Instructor or instructor training provider provided instruction 
while not being capable of instructing the entire course and 
providing technically correct riding demonstrations 

98.70(a)(10) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Instructor or instructor training provider failed to supervise all 
students and personnel on the range 

98.70(a)(12) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Motorcycle school failed to report each injury to the Department 
in a timely manner. 

98.50(a)(1)-(2) 
98.72(a)(4) 

Motorcycle school, instructor, or instructor training provider 
allowed unauthorized person on the range during range
instruction 

98.108(f)(1)-(4) 

Motorcycle school, instructor, or instructor training provider 
allowed range assistant to provide instruction or evaluation of 
students 

98.108(g) 

Unlicensed Activity – Expired License 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Motorcycle school offered or conducted training in motorcycle 
operation for consideration with an expired license 

662.006(a)(1) 

98.25(1) 

Instructor offered or provided instruction in motorcycle operation 
to the public for consideration with an expired license 98.20(a)(1) 

Instructor training provider offered or conducted an instructor 
training course with an expired license 

662.0064(a) 

98.24(a) 

Instructor provided instruction not as an employee of, or under 
contract with, a motorcycle school 98.20(a)(3) 

Class C Violations 
Penalty: $1,500 up to $3,000 and/or 1-year probated suspension up to revocation 
Unlicensed Activity – No License 

Violation Statute/Rule 



 

 

 

 

 

 

Offered or conducted training in motorcycle operation for 
consideration without an instructor license 

98.20(a)(1) 

Offered or conducted training in motorcycle operation without a 
motorcycle school license 

662.006(a)(1) 
98.25(1) 

Offered or conducted an instructor training course without an 
instructor training provider license 

662.0064(a) 
98.20(a)(1) 

Employed or contracted with an unlicensed instructor to conduct 
training in motorcycle operation for consideration 

662.006(a)(3) 
98.25(3) 

98.72(a)(13) 

Insurance Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Motorcycle school failed to maintain the required insurance 
policy for the motorcycle school 

98.40 
98.72(a)(3) 

Safety Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Instructor or instructor training provider failed to remove student 
whose riding performance created an unmanageable danger on 
the range 

98.106(d) 

Instructor or instructor training provider failed to act immediately 
to appropriately address the medical needs of any person injured 
at the training site and summon emergency medical services if 
necessary 

98.70(a)(4) 
98.71(a)(1) 

Integrity Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Obtained a license by fraud 662.008(a)(2) 

Motorcycle school, instructor, or instructor training provider 
completed, issued, or validated a course completion 

98.70(b)(2) 
98.71(a)(1) 
98.72(b)(1) 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 
 

certificate to a person who has not successfully completed 
the course 

98.106(d) 

Induced or countenanced fraud or fraudulent practice by a 
person applying for a driver license/permit 662.008(a)(3) 

Induced or countenanced fraud or fraudulent practice in an 
action between the applicant/licensee and public 

662.008(a)(4) 

Failed to implement effective protective measures to ensure 
that unissued course completion certificates are secure. 

98.72(a)(11) 

Failed to Cooperate with the Department Violations 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Failed to cooperate with department audits and investigations 
and provide all requested documents 

98.70(a)(6) 
98.71(a)(1) 
98.72(a)(5) 

Class D Violations 
Penalty: $3,000 up to $5,000 and/or up to revocation 

Violation Statute/Rule 
Failed to deal honestly with members of the public and the 
Department 

98.70(a)(15) 
98.71(a)(1) 
98.72(a)(17) 

Failed to comply with an order of the Commission or Executive 
Director. 

51.353(a)
98.90 

Failed to pay the Department for a dishonored payment or
processing fee. 

51.210(c)
60.82 

Instructor or instructor training provider instructed a student when 
the student or instructor exhibited signs of impairment from the 
use of an alcoholic beverage, controlled substance, drug, or 
dangerous drug, as defined in Texas Penal Code §1.07 

98.70(b)(1) 
98.71(a)(1) 




